WWAAM Interviews Tony Acree!

Where Writers And Authors Meet Interviews:


Tony Acree!

Tony Acree was our last Featured Spotlight author in December of 2013 and visitors were encouraged to ask Tony some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight!

Asked by Virginia Lori Jennings

What started you down your writing path?

A girl. A friend wrote a poem for a girl I had fallen in love with and I thought, “No problem, I can write one, too.” So I did and I’ve been writing ever since. As a side note, I got the girl. She was my girlfriend for two whole weeks.

Asked by Jo Linsdell

Which is harder to write short fiction or a novel?

No doubt, it’s harder to write a novel. My brain moves from idea to idea quickly and writing short story fiction is wonderful. I Write about eight thousand words and then move on. But writing at least fifty-five thousand? Much tougher, which is why I write each chapter as if it is its own short story.

What was the biggest learning curve during the writing your novel?

The biggest hurdle was learning to plan time for writing. The one thing writers have to do is write. You can’t make excuses, you have to write. With a family and my own business, finding time to write can be a struggle. But that’s the most important thing, write, write, write.

What can we expect from you in 2014?

The sequel to The Hand of God, titled The Watchers, will come out in the spring. Then it’s on to the third book in the series. No rest for the wicked. Or for my main character, Victor McCain.

Asked by Marian Allen

What’s Hand Of God about?

It was six p.m. when the Devil walked into my office. This is the first line to my novel. Victor McCain, a bounty hunter, finds out his brother, Mikey, has sold his soul and will die and spend an eternity in Hell unless Vic agrees to find a woman Satan desperately wants found. Vic has no choice but to agree and the book is about his struggles to find the girl, save his brother while still sticking it to Satan.

Does it have a bounty hunter in it?

Several. Vic (our hero), J.B. (his top rival), and the Hand of God (God’s own bounty hunter on Earth). Things get complicated quickly for Vic.

Is the devil really in it?

Really, really. Although, the story isn’t about him. The story is about choices and how they affect us.

Why doesn’t your vampire sparkle?

That’s made up *#@%. In my novel, Satan has twelve former evil individuals, who are allowed a second chance back on Earth as long as they do his bidding. They are what inspired the legend of vampires. At least, according to me.

What’s the body count in Hand of God, if you include the undead?

Lets see. Hmm. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, …Well. A bunch. Action. Lots and lots of action.

Do you drink while you’re writing?

Dear Lord, I hope so.

What’s the best marketing technique you’ve found, second to selling your soul to Satan?

Twitter is by far the most important social networking tool. But you have to use them all: blog, Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr, all of them. Coordinating them is just as important. I use a program called Hootsuite to manage my burgeoning social media empire.

Do you think Satan is more likely to turn up in Louisville, Kentucky than in any other Midwestern city?

Nope.

If so, why? If not, why not? Please answer in 250 words or fewer.

I actually think he is more likely to show up in Indiana. I mean, come on. I actually think it proves God rested on the seventh day, because someone else must have been at the controls. No deity in his right mind would create the state of Indiana. (Note, I am from Kentucky and Indiana University was our biggest rivals in basketball growing up, But my wife is from Indiana, so now I have to make fun of people in Tennessee.)

If your daddy would really smack you if you ate with a woman and didn’t pay for her meal, how many times can I angle you into taking me out to eat before the smack wears off?

Yes he really would. He always asked. As for how often? White Castle’s anyone? Anyone?

     From Admin Virginia- Tony this interview had me laughing! Thank you so much for your participation and your amazing spirit! Good luck in selling your books!


You can find Tony Acree’s book on Amazon here

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Interviews
2 comments on “WWAAM Interviews Tony Acree!
  1. Tony Acree says:

    Virginia, Thanks for having me. I love it when people ask a wide variety of questions and your site didn’t let me down. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,201 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,932 Visitors
