WWAAM Interviews Beth Buelow!

Where Writers And Authors Meet Interviews:


Beth Buelow!

Beth Buelow was our Featured Spotlight author on the week of October 1st and visitors were encouraged to ask Beth some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight! Feel free to ask more questions, and we might just be able to get Beth back for a follow up interview!

Beth Buelow, ACC, The Introvert Entrepreneur

Beth Buelow was 7 when she outlined the marketing plan for her first entrepreneurial venture, 23 when she learned she was an introvert, and 38 when, in 2010, she put the two together to create The Introvert Entrepreneur. Her message resonates with introverts who want to amplify their strengths, and the extroverts who want to understand why introverts are so doggone quiet. Beth is a professional coach, author and speaker, is based in the Pacific Northwest and serves introverts worldwide. She is the author of “Insight: Reflections on the Gifts of Being an Introvert” (2012), “I is for Introvert: The A-Z Guide to the Quieter Side” (2013), and the forthcoming “The Introvert Entrepreneur” (2014). Learn more at TheIntrovertEntrepreneur.com.

 

Virginia Lori Jennings says:
What is one question you have always wanted to be asked? What would be your answer?

This is tough! I spend most of my time asking other people questions, so to turn the tables is a bit tricky. Here’s my best shot:

->Question: What’s the single most powerful piece of advice someone’s ever given you?

Answer: “Be open to outcome, not attached.” This was shared with me by a colleague, and it’s inspired by “The Four-Fold Way: Walking the Paths of the Warrior, Teacher, Healer, and Visionary” by Angeles Arrien. Once I embraced this idea, I realized how much suffering I’d inflicted upon myself (and probably others) through my attachments. Releasing attachment means we’re also releasing judgment. We’re opening ourselves to a healthier, more abundant perspective. This has impacted every area of my life, personally and professionally. It’s also been foundational to my identity as a writer.

Virginia Lori Jennings says:

Being an introverted author can be quite difficult when trying to appear for book signings or author events. Do you have any advice for writers who are introverts?

Being an introvert and a writer is the perfect combination, since the writing process is a solitary, contemplative, and creative activity. But once the words leave your brain and enter into another’s brain, that’s when it feels like the real work begins!

Here’s what I suggest: take it one day, one event at a time. Try to notice and nip any pre-emptive exhaustion in the bud (you know, the “I get tired just thinking about next week’s schedule!” thing we do?). If the promotional activity can be paced over time, then limit your schedule to no more than two major events in a week. If you have to engage in a concentrated flurry of activity, make sure the time (days? weeks?) before and after that period is carved out for your downtime. Be fiercely protective of it; it’s how you’ll get through the flurry.

At the events themselves, bring a friend or colleague who can provide both emotional support and logistical assistance as needed. Don’t depend on the host of the event to have everything covered. Even if the host doesn’t miss a beat, you’ll still be grateful for the security of a familiar, friendly face in the crowd. And above all, enjoy the experience. The people who come really want to be there. They put a face on your readership, helping you to remember that your work isn’t being flung into a void. It’s making a real impact on real people. Focus on feeling gratitude for their presence and positive energy, greet and talk to one person at a time, and reward yourself with a nice long nap when the event is over.

Hazel Nutt says:

 

My Mum is an introvert and can be extremely shy – she is a prime target for your book – what piece of advice could you give her that would convince her to buy your book?

Information is power. The more awareness you have of what makes you tick, and that you’re not alone in whatever’s challenging you, the more you’ll be able to build trust and confidence in yourself. You’re not broken, and this book won’t try to fix you. However, it will give you a sense of connectedness and hope. Learn about what makes you strong, and build on that.

Hazel Nutt says:

How did you become known as “The Introvert Entrepreneur”?

When I first launched my coaching business, I struggled to find that all-important niche. One day, I pulled out a notebook and created profiles for each client I was working with. My thought was that I would find the common thread that would lead to my niche. Because I’ve always been fascinated with personality types, I scribbled in the margins whether I thought a particular client was an introvert or extrovert. I noted with surprise that my guess was that 90% of them were introverts. “Interesting!” I thought, and closed the notebook. It wasn’t until almost six months later when I was at a business workshop that I made the connection. It was a true “ah-ha!” moment. I put my stake in the ground immediately, right in that workshop: my coaching niche was introverts. At some point very soon after, the phrase “introvert entrepreneur” popped into my head and wouldn’t go away. So being an INFJ and trusting my gut, I went with it. What I love about it is that it describes me as well as the people I work with. It’s clear without being confining. It feels limitless.

Jo Linsdell says:
What did it feel like to sell your first book? Do you remember where you were when you found out you had sold a book?

If you mean “sold” as in sold a copy of the first book I self-published, I was glued to my email, waiting to see when the first pre-sale order would come in. Within about two minutes of sharing the sales link, there it was! I mainly felt relief. In some ways, it was almost anti-climactic… all that build-up to put the book together, the wrestling with technology (I took a very DIY approach), and then the release into the world. It was both exciting and vulnerable. Something that was once private and precious was now exposed and subject to judgment. Eeek! But it’s been worth it!

I’m hoping to have the experience of selling a book to a publisher soon. I signed with a literary agent a few months ago, and we’re planning the first round of pitches for January. I’d love to circle back once that book (“The Introvert Entrepreneur”) is sold and share what THAT experience was like!

Jo Linsdell says:

What three things do you think your readers would be surprised to know about you?

1. My ambition through high school and college was to be a professional classical musician. I was a pretty killer clarinet player.

2. My husband and I (two very work-with-our-heads-not-with-our-hands types) refurbished a 25-ft sailboat (“Sapphire”) from bow to stern over the course of four years. We sold that boat about ten years ago, only to buy her back late last year. She’s in Michigan, we’re in Washington, but we know she’s waiting patiently for us.

3. When I was about four, I thought “The Flintstones” was based on my family. I don’t think there’s anything more I’m willing to share about that.

 

     From Admin Virginia- It was a pleasure to hear from you Beth! I will be taking your advice with me to my next event 🙂

You can find  Beth Buelow’s book on Amazon here

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Interviews

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,200 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,950 Visitors
