WWAAM Interviews Jordyn Meryl!

Where Writers And Authors Meet Interviews:


Jordyn Meryl

Jordyn Merylwas our Featured Spotlight author last week and visitors were encouraged to ask Jordyn some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight! Feel free to ask more questions, and we might just be able to get Jordyn back for a follow up interview!

Jo Linsdell says:

Having worked as a school librarian, do you have any tips for authors wanted to get their books on library shelves? and for doing library visits?

Since I am self-published, most libraries don’t carry my books. I have donated copies to some of the small-town libraries. I have also done book signing in the smaller libraries. I hope this policy changes soon, since indie publishers are becoming a major part of the writing community.

Stephen Ward says:

1. Is the Dewey Decimal System for the birds?

Dewey sucks. Time for him to retire.

2. Did you ever want to crack some kid with a baseball bat after witnessing him break the spine of a book?

Yes, that’s why I liked paperbacks or now eReaders.

3. What was the largest fine you ever levied for a late book?

I never charged fines. Just give me my book back.
5. What do you think of guys that get turned on by librarians?

I think they have very good taste in women.
6. Family beach or nude beach?

Nude, if I can wear my clothes.
7. Do women like to read paranormal junk because the modern American man is a dud?

There is not doubt, paranormal men are hot. Today’s man needs to pay attention.
8. When you co-author a book, does one of you handle the nouns and the other the verbs and split up the rest?

I co-authored once, got screwed (and not in a good way) never again.
9. Did you watch Xena, Warrior Princess a lot? Damn, she was hot.

I did, My kind of woman
10. Do paranormal writers smoke a lot of dope?

Not necessary. Some of us can think up this stuff cold sober.
11. Do people often call you Jordan and do you care?

Never noticed. I am, by the way, a female. (See note after my website.)
12. You wake up and find out you are living in the reality of one of your stories begging the question: who do you trust with your credit card?

I trust no one with my credit card no matter what reality I am in.
13. You find out your editor made it through college working as a hooker. When ever you talk to her do you ask, “How’s tricks?”

Sure. It’s a phase she would understand.
14. At ‘Where Writer and Authors Puke’ you meet a fellow author and chat and you tell this person the plot of your next book. Sometime later this person announces their next book and as you read their blurb you realize it is your current work in progress. Do you make a big stink?

No, I would kill them quietly and bury the body.

breigk says:

Love your books. Where do you draw on the inspiration for your stories? Are any of them from personal situations?

Thank you. I wish! They just come to me as how people would act in a situation. I watch a lot of Reality TV! It was my escape as a child to go to a world full of love.

Jenny McKinney says:

You say you dream of writing on a white, sandy beach. Have you had the opportunity to do that? What is your favorite beach?

I grew up in California, fell in love with a kid from Iowa and this where I have been for the last forty some years. My dream is to be able to go back to my beach. I’d even take a lake. My favorite beach as a teenager was Corona del mar, just south of Huntington Beach.

Sophia DeLuna says:

Hi Jordyn,

1. Do you write an outline for your stories or do you jump right in and see where the story takes you?

I don’t do an outline first. I let the story evolve in my head and just write. When I see how it’s going and can feel the story unfold-I do a story board. I made a table on my computer with ten squares for novellas and twenty for novels. I label some squares as “turning points.” points”. Surprisingly, my brain puts turning points at the right spots.

2. Which of the genres you write is your favorite, and why?

I really like a good mystery. I am a big fan of Agatha Christie and Mary Higgins Clark. I may write one someday. I also like Merlin of Camelot stories and Egyptian history.

I also love a good tear-jerkier, love story, not always a Happily Ever After, but it ends the way I think it should. I add sex if I feel the relationship is going to turn physical. I like strong women and hot males with enough spice to keep it real.

The three novellas are light hearted. The fourth “A Space Between” is a paranormal romantic suspense.

3. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what kind of music?

I do listen to music. Usually top pop. Songs will form a scene in my mind, and I go with it. I list my favorite videos for each story on Pinterest.

Music plays a big part in the feelings I want to put in my story. I turn on VH1 first thing in the morning. Later, I will turn to MTV. I also have music loaded on my computer and iPhone.

4. Who is your favourite author?

Nicholas Sparks influences my writing. I feel I write like him with sex. LOL. I like a good love story.

Dean Bonner says:

Where do you get the ideas, and the inspiration for your books?

Ideas just pop up. I actually dream most of my stories. They are the easiest for me to write. Stories I make up in my head take more work.

Do you think “The Librarian” would have made a good villain character on the original Batman TV show, or do you feel that librarians are poorly understood?

Are you talking about the batman on TV in the 60’s? It’s my favorite. I love the word “Biff”. No, I would not like to see a librarian as a villain, however “The Librarian” is a great character. Yes, librarians are poorly understood. They are not your mousy, dull people. We rock with the best of them. I wrote a hot sexy story about a librarian and submitted it in a contest. One of the judges berated me because she was not an authentic librarian. I want to write back and say, “I am a librarian! She is more true to life than you know.”

What is the most difficult part of your writing and publishing process?

The most difficult part of writing for me is the editing. You never please everyone. And sometimes my voice is hidden behind ‘proper grammar’. Getting reviews is a publishing problem for most authors. I want honest reviews. I can’t grow if I don’t know what readers think. Also reviews are getting to be like a credit score for authors.

Hazel Nutt says:

What would be your best piece of advice for new writers?

First join writer’s groups. It doesn’t have to be the expensive national ones. There are probably some small local ones. Then go to the meeting and listen to how writers think and act. Some of the advice will work for you. Some won’t. Don’t feel you can’t do this if you don’t follow the rules. Be yourself and true to your writing. Then just write the story. Finish one story, good or bad and you will be hooked.

     From Admin Virginia- I really loved your views on the literary world as a librarian who writes- instead of warning away indie authors it is refreshing to find a librarian who welcomes them and encourages libraries to welcome indies too!

You can find  Jordyn Meryl’s Book‘s on Amazon here

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Interviews

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,200 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,950 Visitors
