Come Ask J.D. Hallowell Some Questions!

Introducing J.D. Hallowell!


What Amazon Author Central says about J.D.:

I’m a 50-ish father and husband who is fortunate enough to have lived an interesting and active life. I’ve had one two-book fantasy series, War of the Blades, published, and I have several other fantasy and SF projects in the works. I like to keep many irons in the fire at once, so my work experiences include such diverse occupations as automotive mechanic, cowboy, photographer, psychiatric tech, paralegal assistant, bouncer, and medical billing clerk. I studied martial arts for over 30 years. I’ve been a soldier and an emergency medical technician, and I served as the chief of a volunteer ambulance squad. I was a diamond courier for a while, and later owned a working kennel where I trained dogs for law enforcement as well as personal protection, and most recently, I’ve trained one service dog, for myself. I don’t get around much now (I’ve been shot, stabbed, blown up, bludgeoned, poisoned, and even had harsh language directed toward me, if you can believe it, and it takes its toll), but I write whenever I can. I have pretty wide-ranging interests and hobbies, including, but not limited to, history, archery, paleontology, cooking, RPGs (the games, not the weapons) and making jewelry. I live on the Space Coast of Florida with my wife, my son, and my Great Dane service dog, until I can convince the rest of my family and friends to move to Arizona.


Author’s Links:

 On Amazon

JD on Facebook
JD On Google+

JD on Goodreads

JD Hallowell’s Website/Blog


JD Hallowell’s Interview will go live On July 1st so do your research and come ask him some questions!

Would you like to be interviewed by the group? Here is how to enter.


Again- if you would like me to reference your author name or your website in the interview along side your question PLEASE leave a comment stating such when you post your comment.

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Interviews
8 comments on “Come Ask J.D. Hallowell Some Questions!
  1. […] Come Ask J.D. Hallowell Some Questions! (wherewritersandauthorsmeet.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] week and visitors were encouraged to ask J.D. some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight! Feel free to ask more questions, and we might just be able to get J.D. back for a follow up […]

  3. sandyn1949 says:

    How have your many experiences aided you in writing your genres? I think a fictional account of your life would be exceptional to read!

  4. JD, with your varied life experiences I’d have guessed that you write suspense/espionage/action. It looks like some of that comes out in your fantasy novels, which are now on my to-read list. What is it about fantasy and science fiction that inspires you to write in those genres? And congratulations on the great reviews!

    Also, as someone relatively new to dragon stories, I’m curious about how much of the dragons’ culture and characteristics you’ve developed for your story world and how much is standard among the dragon genre. Are there unwritten rules an author shouldn’t break, or is it pretty free territory?

    And what’s your favourite thing about your dragons? (Janet Sketchley, janetsketchley.wordpress.com)

  5. Kadi Dillon says:

    Hi! Like you, I have a huge variety of jobs, interests, and hobbies. I feel as though this wide range gives me the knowledge and experience I need to bring “realness” to my stories. Do you feel that having so many different interest helps you be a better writer?

  6. Reblogged this on DLFwriting and commented:
    Check out this interactive interview opportunity!

  7. I agree with Jo, what a bio. Here’s my question: How do you approach the beginning of a new work? Do you start with a character sketch, World building, a scene? How does a new piece getting off the ground for you? (I might be cheating here with so many questions, but, inquiring minds want to know!) (David Fernandez: http://dlfwriting.com/)

  8. Jo Linsdell says:

    WOW you have one of the most interesting bio’s I’ve read in a long time! Which of your many jobs before becoming a writer did you enjoy most and why?

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,199 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,958 Visitors
