WWAAM Interviews Kadi Dillon

Where Writers And Authors Meet Interviews:
Kadi Dillon!

Kadi Dillon was our Featured Spotlight author last week and visitors were encouraged to ask Jason some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight! Feel free to ask more questions, and we might just be able to get Kadi back for a follow up interview!

 

 

1: I read on your Facebook page that your business “Sugar Rush Candy” is going to be used in a future story. Do you often put “real life stuff” into your stories? (Asked by Jo Linsdell )In one way or another, my real life and experiences are all in my books. I may change up names, dates, or situations, but my friends and family almost always know what I was thinking when I wrote a particular theme.

(Questions 2-14 asked by Brandy Potter)
2: What is your writing ritual?
Usually, I am inspired at odd times throughout the day. I always jot down notes either on paper (because I always carry a pencil and mini legal pad in my purse) or I type it in my note pad on my cell phone. When I am ready to sit for a writing session, I grab my Diet Dr. Pepper, notes, and usually a snack–and be brilliant.

 

3) do you outline your plots or just flow?
Both. I try to construct a basic outline, but often my characters boss me around mid-scene. I let them lead, and am usually surprised and pleased by the results. When I first began writing, my outlines were organized and percise. Now they look more like, “here a thing happens, and she says this. Then some more stuff happens, and results in hero and heroine falling in love.” My characters are more interesting than I am.

 

4) what is more important to you character or plot?
Without good, real, and interesting characters to fall in love with, who cares about the plot? Again, if I do my job right, my characters create their own story.

 

5) how do your stories come to you?
Sometimes I dream them, like I am watching a movie in my sleep. If I see something interesting, I start to imagine someone doing it, and I write it.

 

6) if your book became the next best seller what would you buy?
A tank of gas and a Diet Dr. Pepper. Large.

 

7) what word do you love?
Cupcake. I love decorating them, too.

 

8) what word do you hate?
Pimple.

 

9) what sound or noise do you love?
My kid’s laughter, hands down.

 

10) what sound or noise do you hate?
The rubbing sound cotton swabs make.

 

11) what turns you on?
Shower clean smell.

 

12) what turns you off?
Beards

 

13) what is your favorite curse word?
I like all of them.

 

14) if heaven exists what do you hope to hear God say when you arrive?
“Your Nannie is right over here…” (Quite looking forward to that…)

 

 

(Interview continued on page 2)

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers/Authors Shorts (no not the clothing kind)

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,199 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,953 Visitors
