WWAAM Interviews Brandy Potter

Where Writers And Authors Meet Interviews:
Brandy Potter!

Brandy Potter was our Featured Spotlight author last week and visitors were encouraged to ask Brandy some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight! Feel free to ask more questions, and we might just be able to get Brandy back for a follow up interview!

1. Please tell us a bit more about Venemous Lives. (Asked by Jo Linsdell: www.jolinsdell.com)

– Venemous Lives is the story of a girl glam rock band. It tells about their struggle with sex, drugs and rock and roll. It is also the story of how each of them attempts to fit loves and children into their life. Lastly it is the story of a love so strong that not even self-sabotage could really divide it.
2. Tell us more about your plans to develop a writer’s workshop… (Asked by: Jennifer Eifrig )
– Here is where this is rough, but I want to have a workshop or class where there is no other grade than a final project… a complete short story that has all of the elements of good creative writing. Plot Character suspense etc would all be a part but I want to have my students brainstorm and write together.

 

(Questions 3-20 were asked by Stephen Ward:)
3. Have you ever committed a felony?

Nope…. A bit boring I know but jail is just something I have never been interested in.

 

4. Do you write because you are bored with your life, to make a jackpot or do you have something to save about our society?

Wow, all of those are fairly negative in connotation. I don’t write for any of those reasons. I write because there are stories in my head and if I don’t begin to write them, they end up taking over my existence. I write to release emotions especially when it comes to poetry.

 

5. Is your mother bat shit crazy?

– Nope….. my mother is the most wonderful parent on the face of the planet. She is everything I have ever wanted to be. She stands out in a crowd, she is a heap of positive energy and healing light. She is beautiful in every way.. but bat shit crazy she is not.

 

6. Venomous Lives is a pretty cool title. Did you think it up yourself?

Yes actually. One of the bands’ name in the book is venom and the story is about the life of a rock and roll group so I felt it fit on more than one level.

 

7. Is it part of a series or a stand alone?

It stands alone. I have only written one book, as yet unpublished, that was to be part of a series. However, every time I announce that I have begun a new project many of my readers ask if it is a sequel. Many are hopeful that one day…. But alas I think I have written the story and tied it up fairly well at that.

 

8. Do you think, when writing, of the written word or do you see your story as a movie?

Um more of the movie in my head. However as I am outing it to paper I am often seeing the words type out in my head. That can be distracting sometimes. There are other times when I can’t remember everything I wrote so after a writing session the first thing I do is arrange my guilty reading pleasures and read the story again.

 

9. When you are standing in line at the grocery and some pinhead holds up the parade while they scramble thru their purse or wallet or the right change or to buy lottery tickets, do you resist the urge to slap them hard on the back of their pathetic heads?

Nope.

 

10. Do you begin building up suspense in the first chapter or wait until later while building up the characters and mood?

Both.. I think you have to start with an action. Like Dicken’s beginning to A Christmas Carol or the beginning of A Tale of Two cities. If you can’t grab the reader on the first page, you will not likely hold them for very much longer without getting into the meat of the story.

(Continued on Pg 2)

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Interviews

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,200 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,950 Visitors
