WWAAM Interviews Jim Henry (part 1)

Where Writers And Authors Meet Interviews:
Jim Henry!

Jim Henry was our Featured Spotlight author last week and visitors were encouraged to ask Jim some of their own questions! Here is a link to that Spotlight! Feel free to ask more questions, and we might just be able to get Jim back for a follow up interview!

1) What kind of a weirdo has two first names? (Asked by Edward Forrest Frank)

Oh, it is worse than that Edward. I, in fact, have THREE first names (James Francis Henry) not to mention THREE last names too! And of course, being a writer, everyone has always wanted to call me Henry James. I settled on Jim Henry as my byline because I figured people would be less likely to call me Henry Jim.

2) Jim, do you have plans or ideas for writing other novels that are not part of the Antiquity Calais series?(Asked by Edward Forrest Frank)

As a matter of fact, I already have. Once Antiquity Calais is done, I plan to write a series called The Time Warp Chronicles, and last fall during the NaNoWriMo contest, I wrote the rough draft of the first book – The Phantom Madness. Plus, I have a really exciting new series that is just about to start. On May 25, PDMI is releasing the first book in The World According to Crash series, Miscellaneous Stuff & Stuff. This is a collection of humorous articles I have written on a variety of topics. I have enough material on hand already to put out at least six or seven books in that series. So I will be writing for a while.

3) What characteristics do you look for in science fiction/fantasy books written by other people that make it worth reading? (Asked by Edward Forrest Frank)

The plot is what moves me. I can forgive flawed characters because characters are people and people are flawed, but if I see a story line with holes in it, that is a turn-off.

4) What flaws or annoyances make you dislike a book written by other authors? (Asked by Edward Forrest Frank)

I sort of just answered that, but another peeve of mine is poorly edited material. Not too long ago, Indie authors considered hiring an editor to be an expense they could not justify, but more Indie authors realize hiring an editor is an expense they must justify. Indie authors have to do things better, because there is a preconceived notion that Indie authors’ work is lesser quality than authors who publish in the traditional route. The way to do that is to professionalize how we approach the business.

5) What is your favorite kind of rock and why? -I really like limestone. (Asked by Edward Forrest Frank)

I really don’t know what they’re called, because I can’t see them inside my head!

6) Soooo, you are coming out with a new book that talks about your double life! Tell us something about what it was like to be two people. (Asked by: Victoria Adams)

Actually, it is much worse than that. I had all kinds of voices running around in my head. I presume you are referring to The World According to Crash – Miscellaneous Stuff & Stuff. Crash is the name I used when I was a comedy disc jockey in college. I had a collection of characters whose voices I did myself. I felt I needed a wild and crazy leader for the group, and the name Jim Henry just did not cut it. Far too boring. So Inspector Crash Cromwell was born.

At the same time I was doing that radio show, I was also the editor of the college newspaper. There were so many people who never made the connection that James F. Henry, the editor, was the same person as Crash on the radio. The personalities were so different. But the thing was, I was acting when I was performing as Crash.
7) What influence does boy wonder have on the topics for your works? (Asked by: Angus Day)

Boy Wonder was my first fan. After I had the inspiration for Antiquity Calais: Standing at Armageddon, I started writing. It took me about six months to write the first draft, and I completed it just before his eighth birthday, so I gave him that rough draft for a birthday present. We read it together, and he gave me such great feedback on what worked, what didn’t work, and when I saw him getting all worked up about what was going to happen to Antiquity and Gillian, I knew I had a book that could sell. So when I published it, I dedicated it to him. As the ideas for future books rolled in, I decided to dedicate each book to my children, then my grand children, and potentially my two God children.

Now Boy Wonder is 14, and he has a girl friend for the first time. This is causing me no small amount of distress, but the way I cope with that is by writing about what I see going on between them. I believe I am getting close to having enough material for that, so the next book I plan to release in The World According to Crash Series will be The Misadventures of Boy Wonder and Chicky Poo. It’s going to be a hoot. Boy Wonder is a comic genius. I really should list him as the author, because his antics need no embellishment to make people laugh so hard, they will pee!

8) What part of the writing process do you enjoy most? ( Asked by: Jo Linsdell)

Writing the first draft. That is when the story is fresh and exciting. Once I have that done, then it is time to revise and edit, and I try to do as comprehensive a job as I can, to make it as clean as I can. When I published Antiquity Calais Ascending Olympus, I think I went through the book four or five times, and by the time I got to the point when even I was sick of reading it, I said it was time to get it out.

9) Do you still receive Reiki treatments or practice meditation before starting a new book or do the ideas just come naturally? (Asked by Jenny)

My Reiki master teacher lives up in Northern Maine, and I moved in the opposite direction to Florida, so my Reiki training stalled at level one. I do use what I learned to help ground me and help calm me when I am getting worked up about something. Reiki is a great relaxation technique, and I do believe it can help people with chronic illnesses in ways that western medicine cannot. So I am very glad I was introduced to this healing technique.

10) Who is your favorite author? (Asked by: Sophia DeLuna)

I have a couple authors who stand out above the rest who have influenced me. The first is named Richard Bach, author of Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Illusions, Biplane, One, among others. He had a profound influence over me when I was in college and graduate school. More recently, I have to say J.K. Rowling and the Potter books were huge, because Boy Wonder was really into them, and I read all of them multiple times to him. I started writing Antiquity Calais: Standing at Armageddon while we were waiting for the last Potter book to come out, to give us something else to read while waiting for that book to come out.

 

(Continued on Page 2)

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Interviews

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,199 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,953 Visitors
