Creating A Book Trailer- A how-to list

So, ‘Where Writers And Authors Meet’…

Want to create your own book trailer? These are some helpful sites…

Create Your Own Book Trailer Free- written by: Kingdom ElectLady

How to create a book trailer -written by: Joanna Penn (this one uses video instead of images!)

4 Steps to Create Your Own Book Trailer -written by: Shannon

How To Make Your Own Book Trailer-written by guest blogger:Julie Cantrell  (I’m going to add- if you plan on recording your own sound make sure everything else in your house is off, and quiet or else you will have a lot of background static and noise)

 

This one has some insight on how your script should be set up:

How To Make A Book Trailer- written by: Ciara Ballintyne

 

If you are in a hurry and want something simple and user friendly, as well as entirely online… check out Animoto!  Free 30 second videos!

      For my own book trailer I used Photo Stage, which you can download for free with limited features or buy a full copy. The limited features are plenty enough to add audio, effects, clips, captions, and save to a format that Youtube will take so I went with the free edition.

I had already created some illustrations for my book so I used these in the trailer and captioned it with a poem I wrote to describe what happens in the book. I also added a slide with a few of my best reviews, and a slide giving credit for the use of the music I used.

Which brings me to my last point. PLEASE either do your own artwork and music OR use PUBLIC DOMAIN music or images. You can find sites that offer public domain images and music for free if only you leave credit for their use on the end of your trailer. Using someone elses images or music unless they are specified to be in the public domain could get you sued- be careful!

 

      I hope the listed sites will be some use to you.

      If anyone else has a site they wish to add- you can feel free to leave it in the comments 😉

      Also, if anyone would like to write a post to tell us about their own experiences with creating book trailers PLEASE feel free to contact us by using the contact us form under Engage in the top nav bar.

 

 

Bio2

Author, Blogger, and illustrator with PDMI Publishing Llc. V.L. Jennings' Blog (Speculating Among The Stars) can be found here: www.virginialorijennings.com I am the author of two science fiction books called "The Alien Mind" and "Visionary from the Stars". I love to write and I have been doing so since the sixth grade. I was born in April 1987 in the state of New Hampshire; I was Home Schooled from seventh grade and graduated at 16 with a GED. I now live with my husband and three children in Dillon, South Carolina. You can find me on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Shelfari, Linkedin, and Pinterest. I love connecting with people! I am readily to answer questions and offer advice and support to new writers.

Posted in Writers Tips

Leave a Reply

Intuit Card Reader

Needing a debit card reader for those book signing events? I've done my research and found Paypal Card Reader to be the cheapest among swipe rates and other card readers.

Want to see my math just to check? (wise idea) Visit my blog post at: Virginia Lori Jennings .com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,200 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 6,950 Visitors
